Skip to content ↓
Stop Press!

We are thrilled to announce that we have been awarded the Quality Mark Gold for History following an assessment carried out by the Historical Association on 7th February 2023.

Stop Press!

Ofsted inspection Report has been sent to parents via ParentMail.  This can also be found on our website (Our School > Ofsted and Standards)

Barrow Hedges Primary School

The Seven Areas of Learning and Development

In this section...

There are seven areas of learning and development that shape the educational programme at Barrow Hedges. All areas of learning and development are important and interconnected.

These areas are particularly important for building a foundation to ignite children’s curiosity and enthusiasm for learning, building on their senses and movement and support children to form positive relationships with others. 

These are the prime areas:

  • Communication and Language
  • Physical Development
  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development

We also support children in four specific areas, through which the three prime areas are strengthened and applied.

The specific areas are:

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive Arts and Design